Cut Copy - Biography

Cut Copy is an Australian dance-pop band featuring Dan Whitford (vocals, guitar, keyboard), Tim Hoey (guitar, sampler), Mitchell Scott (drums), and Ben Browning (bass). Whitford formed Cut Copy originally as a solo project in 2001, but Hoey and Scott joined him in 2003 to create a full band. They released their first full-length album, Bright Like Neon Light (Modular), in 2004. Their sophomore album, In Ghost Colours (Modular, 2008), debuted at number one in Australia and was certified gold. The band embarked on a heavy tour in support of In Ghost Colours, including headlining Lollapalooza and being the first Australian band to play Colombia since INXS. Zonoscope, their third album, was released on February 8, 2011 on Modular and was nominated for a Grammy in 2012 for Best Dance/Electronic. In addition, Zonoscope won an ARIA Award in Australia for Best Dance Release and was nominated for Album of the Year.


They tour extensively, including performances at Coachella, the Sydney Opera House Concert Hall, the Pitchfork Music Festival in Chicago and the inaugural Pitchfork Music Festival in Paris. On November 4, 2013, they played a DJ set at Amoeba Hollywood in celebration of their fourth album, Free Your Mind, which came out the following day.

Soylent / Amoeba Banner
Amoeba Accepts Paypal - Start Digging!
Subscribe to Vinyl News


New customers, create your account here. Its quick and easy!


Don't want to register? Feel free to make a purchase as a guest!

Checkout as Guest

Currently, we do not allow digital purchases without registration



Become a member of It's easy and quick!

All fields required.

An error has occured - see below:

Already have an account? Log in.


Forgot Password

To reset your password, enter your registration e-mail address.


Forgot Username

Enter your registration e-mail address and we'll send you your username.


Amoeba Newsletter Sign Up