Hip-Hop Rap Up: 09:22:17: Macklemore, Apathy & O.C., Lacrae, Rock, DJ Kay Slay, Lil Debbie, Grandmaster Flash & The Furious Five

Posted by Billyjam, September 22, 2017 01:48pm | Post a Comment
Amoeba Hip-Hop Top 5 [09:22:17]

1: Macklemore Gemini (Bendo/Warner)

2: Apathy + O.C. Perestroika (Dirty Version) (also avail in Vinyl/2LP set)

3: Lacrae All Things Work Together (Columbia/Legacy) (also avail in Vinyl/LP)

4: Rock Rockness A.P.: After Price (Digital Deja Vu)

5: DJ Kay Slay The Big Brother (Streetsweepers Ent.)

Vinyl Reissue of the Week:
Grandmaster Flash & The Furious Five The Message LP (8th Records)

Sans longtime musical partner Ryan Lewis, with whom he won four Grammys for the Seattle duo’s 2012 debut studio album The Heist (famously and controversially beating out Kendrick Lamar’s good kid, m.A.A.d city in the Best Rap Album category), Macklemore is now back to being a solo act with the new album Gemini. Released today on the Bendo label (via Warner) Gemini is the follow up to last year’s This Unruly Mess I’ve Made by the duo, and/or the follow up to his last solo album a dozen years ago, 2005’s The Language of My World. Titled not after an inexpensive DJ mixer brand but the rapper's zodiac sign, Gemini is an improvement on last year’s somewhat lackluster release but not near as good as the album that brought him (and Lewis) widespread fame. Highlights of the new album include such tracks as “Levitate” and “Good Old Days (feat. Kesha).” Scroll down to see the hugely popular music video for the feel-good, pop-rap, new album track “Marmalade (feat. Lil Yachty).”

Underrated artist Apathy has joined forces with O.C. for the new collaborative album Perestroika (also avail in Vinyl/2LP set) that includes the Moss produced lead single (video below) “Soviet Official.” Also new into Amoeba today is DJ Kay Slay’s star-packed album  The Big Brother featuring the lead single/video, first dropped a couple of months ago,  "Wild One (feat. Rick Ross, 2 Chainz & Kevin Gates)” for which you can see the video below. Meanwhile filed under “Christian/Gospel” as well as hip-hop is the brand new Lacrae album All Things Work Together that is also avail in Vinyl/LP from Columbia/Legacy. His follow up to 2015's Anomaly this powerful new album could also be filed under self-empowering, positive, uplifting music.  Scroll down to peep the six-and-a-half minute album introduction video, published earlier today and entitled “ All Things Work Together - Short Film.”

Born Jahmal Bush, Rock is the rap artist from the famed duo of Heltah Skeltah along with  Ruck (aka Sean Price). As you might have guessed, Rock’s new album title, Rockness A.P.: After Price, refers to his late great musical partner who died two years ago but is still missed greatly by fans and friends alike. On a side note if you have not already done so be sure to pick up the recent posthumous Sean Price release Imperius Rex (Duck Down). Meanwhile on Rock’s brand new 13 track album, that pays tribute to Sean Price (aka Sean P), the artist is joined by a grip of talented high profile guest mic spitters that include Buckshot, Method Man, M.O.P., Inspectah Deck, Tek & Steele, Raekwon, and Ras Kass. Check out the music video below for the new album track “GW BaG.”

Also newly released and arrived into Amoeba today, but not included in the above Top 5, is the brand new album OG In My System (Lil Debbie Records) from Lil Debbie. Lil Debbie is the East Bay born artist who came to fame several years ago as part of the former female rap trio The White Girl Mob along Kreayshawn and V-Nasty.  This latest eleven track album by the artist is the follow up to last year’s studio album from the artist, Debbie, and features such tracks as “Summer” (see music video below).

Finally the vinyl reissue of the week, care of 8th Records, is the new pressing of the 1982 album The Message LP from Grandmaster Flash & The Furious Five featuring the stand-out title track “The Message” (scroll down to see video below).

Macklemore “Marmalade (feat. Lil Yachty)” from the album Gemini  (2017)

Apathy & O.C. “Soviet Official” from the album Perestroika also avail in Vinyl/2LP set (2017)

Lecrae “All Things Work Together: Short Film” for the album All Things Work Together  (+ Vinyl/LP) (2017)

Rock “GW BaG” from the album Rockness A.P.: After Price (2017)

DJ Kay Slay “Wild One (feat. Rick Ross, 2 Chainz & Meet Sims)” from the album The Big Brother (2017)

Lil Debbie “Summer” from the album OG In My System (2017)

Grandmaster Flash & The Furious Five “The Message” from vinyl reissue of The Message LP (1982/2017)

Relevant Tags

Grandmaster Flash + Furious Five (1), Sean Price (12), Rock (26), Lecrae (1), Macklemore Gemini (1), Dj Kay Slay (2), Apathy & O.c. (1)