Just In Time For Independence Day/4th of July, Neil Young Unveils New Protest Song/Video: "Children Of Destiny"

Posted by Billyjam, June 30, 2017 06:38pm | Post a Comment

Just in time for the Fourth of July / Independence Day holiday, Neil Young today unveiled the brand new track / music video for "Children of Destiny" (see below). The new collaborative track with Promise of the Real was introduced late this morning via a Facebook live video stream by Young alongside Micah Nelson. Along with fellow guitarist Lukas Nelson, Nelson is one of two Willie Nelson offsprings featured in the 62 member Promise of the Real that includes a 56 piece orchestra for this recording.

Longtime activist Neil Young, who wrote the song, supplies guitar and vocals for the protest piece whose chant-along chorus advises listeners to, "Stand up for what you believe. Resist the powers that be" as well as to, "Preserve the land and save the sea, for the children of destiny!"

Neil Young + Promise of the Real "Children of Destiny" (2017) 

The new Neil Young song arrives amidst an active period for the 71 year old Canadian born artist who has been quite busy over the past year between both recording new material and releasing older lost recordings and re-issues, as well as showing up at such protests as the Dakota Pipeline Protest late last year. That unannounced low-key visit to the controversial protest site inspired some the music on Young's most recent, all new ten track album Peace Trail (also avail on LP/vinyl) that was released six months ago in both CD and vinyl formats. This past Friday, with Young's blessing, Reprise Records reissued the artist's classic 1977 compilation triple album Decade in both 2CD and 3LP formats. This latest Decade reissue followed on the heels of the quickly sold-out 2017 Record Store Day 3LP pressing of the album.
According to Neil Young's label, in two weeks from today (July 14th) the veteran artist will release his four-decade old "lost" album Hitchhiker. A new release, the ten track album comes direct from Young's audio archive vaults and is an acoustic ten-track album featuring all new versions of songs: eight previously released (albeit different versions) and two of which have never been released in any version before.

An acoustic guitar solo session, that Young recorded between his albums Zuma (with Crazy Horse) and American Stars 'N Bars, and just weeks before the release of the Stephen Stills + Neil Young band album Long May You Run, Hitchhiker was recorded at Indigo Studio in Malibu, CA in August 1976. To be released by Reprise in CD and LP and digital formats, Hitchhiker's two previously unreleased songs reportedly will be “Hawaii” and “Give Me Strength" which are both songs that, back in the seventies, Young included in some live performances.

Relevant Tags

Neil Young (36)