Hip-Hop Rap-Up, Week Ending 03.03.12: Gangrene, V-Nasty, Busdriver, Andre Nickatina, Drake, Dolla Will, ESG, MUMBLS + more

Posted by Billyjam, March 3, 2012 09:20am | Post a Comment
  Amoeba Music Hollywood Hip-Hop Top Five Week Ending 03: 03:12

1) Drake Take Care (Cash Money/Universal)

2) Kanye West & Jay Z Watch The Throne (Def Jam)

3) Gangrene Vodka & Ayahuasca (Decon)

4) Busdriver Beaus $ Eros  (Fake Four Inc.)

5) Blu & Exile  Below The Heavens (Fat Beats)

This week's hip-hop chart from the Hollywood Amoeba store reflects the state of the current hip-hop market - one in which many titles have a long shelf life including the most recent releases from both Drake (Take Care on Cash Money/Universal) and Kanye West & Jay Z (Watch The Throne on Def Jam) - two major label releases that were originally released in early November and August respectively but have been steadily selling/charting ever since. Meantime another steady seller is  Blu & Exile's  Below The Heavens on Fat Beats which is technically a five year old album but, due to public demand, was reissued recently. The other two album entrants on the new hip-hop chart are the 2012 releases from both LA alt hip-hop talent  Busdriver (Beaus $ Eros on Fake Four Inc. featuring the Loden produced track below "Kiss Me Back To Life") and Gangrene's Vodka & Ayahuasca on Decon.  Featuring Oh No and Alchemist Gangrene are pretty darn good and this is one recommended album; one of those records that you hear something new in every time you play it. 

Busdriver "Kiss Me Back To Life" (2012)

Meanwhile in the Bay there's a lot of things happening including a great concert tonight at Mezzanine by ESG - a group that truly transcend all genres but have a very strong appeal to hip-hop heads since the legendary Bronx group's influence is far-reaching via all of the hip-hop records that have sampled ESG (especially their songs "UFO" and "Moody") - a long list that includes LL Cool J, Public Enemy, and Gang Starr. Doors at tonight's No Way Back party featuring ESG are 9pm. Also on the bill and on the turntables are Solar, Conor, and Junior. Mezzanine is located in downtown San Francisco at 444 Jessie. 21+ $20 advance tix More info here.

Meanwhile on the Bay Area rap/hip-hop front there's a wave of new releases from both newcomer and longtime rap artists such as Fillmore, San Francisco veteran Andre Nickatina (formerly Dre Dog) who, to accompany his new 2-song single "Tell Me..."/"Bounce (Rack City)" and his soon to drop new mixtape Where's My Money will be embarking on a national tour of the same name. Like the forthcoming mixtape the Where's My Money tour, which kicks off in NYC @ the Highline Ballroom April 4th (where he was one year ago too), will feature guest shots from Cali talents Fashawn and MUMBLS. A self-described "Andre Nickatina  protégé" MUMBLS is about to release own brand new mixtape, Hella Novellas, in the coming week. And it will likely get a warm reception since the 22 year old Berkeley rapper has already created a bit of a buzz for himself with the singles, "Parachute" (video below), "Spellbound," and  "Overnight Bag" in which he flips a song from indie-pop artist Blood Orange

MUMBLS "Parachute" (2012)

of the White Girl Mob, whose flippant use of the N word caused much controversy in 2011 and who had many rap fans scratching their heads when late in the year she collaborated with Gucci Mane on the full length mixtape BAYTL, is about to drop a new mixtape titled Doin' Number$ which features guest shots from a long list including (her partner in the White Girl crew) Kreayshawn, Gucci Mane, Mistah F.A.B., Roach Gigz, and Erk Tha Jerk. With production from the likes of Zaytoven, The Madden Brothers, and Tha Bizness Doin' Number$ is described by the East Bay female artist as "a collection of bouncy, low-end-heavy production" with such tracks as the Gucci Mane-featuring mixtape opener "Swobbin'" and "More Bitches" (feat. Kreayshawn and Roach Gigz). You can download Doin' Number$ for free from the White Girl Mob website.


And in the lead up to Bay Area rapper and Clear Label Records recording artist Dolla Will's  forthcoming 2012 album, Boss Flow, the multi-talented artist has just unveiled the video for the album's latest single, "Addicted" - which is a follow up to the Too $hort-assisted lead single "Work That Body." The new video (below) was directed by the Hieroglyphic's Casual with help from his video production company Wet Foot Filmworks. More than simply a music video the clip features Will showcasing his acting chops. "This was me making my first acting debut," admitted Dolla Will recently. "We wanted to make sure the visuals tied into the song, showing me hustling, being addicted to the life I live." As well as the new video to tease his forthcoming album Dolla Will has also just unveiled a brand new pre-album mixtape titled Life Before Dolla Will downloadable for free here:

Dolla Will "Addicted" (2012)

Relevant Tags

Busdriver (7), V-nasty (1), Gangrene (2), Drake (22), Andre Nickatina (8), Dolla Will (3), Esg (3), Mumbls (1)