FIillmore SF Artist Big Rich Drops Heart Of The City Today: Livin' large and Independent Big Rich Raps

Posted by Billyjam, June 30, 2009 11:20am | Post a Comment
Big Rich
Today, June 30th 2009, Fillmore San Francisco rapper Big Rich releases his latest album Heart Of The City on his own local independently owned & operated label 3 Story Muzik/Street Cred Music Group. Available at Amoeba Music San Francisco today, Luis in the hip-hop department at the Haight Street store commented, "We're very excited to have a new project by Fillmore's finest. We always sell out of everything he does."

Three years ago the hometown hero burst on the scene with the critically acclaimed, E40 presented debut Block Tested Hood Approved released on the New York based KOCH Records. Last year he followed up with both the album San Francisco Anthem as part of the All City crew, and the underground slim-jewel case CD release Get Down Or Lay Down Vol 2. And now today he unleashes the album Heart Of The City which sticks close to the script that the Bay Area artist developed on those previous releases.

Of the lyrical content of the new 17 track Heart Of The City (see exact tracking below) Big Rich says that, "I'm talking about issues happening in every city on a daily basis. I'm trying to capture the mood of rolling through your city and seeing different things going on in your everyday life. I'm telling my story through the eyes of a hustler's lifestyle: not a gangsta, a drug dealer, a politician, but a person who once struggled and now enjoys the journey after the fact,"  Heart Of The City features some of the finest local acts making cameos including Glasses Malone, The Jacka, Dem Hoodstarz, and 3 Story Gang. Meanwhile production is handled by 3 Story's own in-house producer D-Animals, Automattik and M.A..

Fillmore, San Francisco bred and proud Big Rich, last month made a point of screening the video (one of two so far off the new album) for the new album track "We Do It (feat. 3 Story Gang)" at the neighborhood Sundance Theater (formerly the Kabuki Theatrer) inviting a slew of local folks to come along and join in the local rapper makes good moment. Meanwhile his lastest video "Ballin'/I'm Back" (also taken from the new album) is currently in rotation on MTV. Peep the video below along with the track listing. And for more info check out Big Rich's MySpace or follow Big Rich on Twitter.

Big Rich "Ballin"/"I'm Back" off new album "Heart of the City" (2009)

Big Rich Heart Of The City Track listing:

1. Heart Of The City (Prod. by D-Animals)
2. I'm Back ft. The Gift (Prod. by D-Animals)
3. You Know Me ft. Netta B (Prod. by D-Animals)
4. Wassup ft. Glasses Malone (Prod. by D-Animals)
5. Fillmore Rich (Prod. by Money Alwayz)
6. Ballin (Prod. by Automattik)
7. Automattik ft. Allen Anthony (Prod. by Automattik)
8. Fly Gangstas ft. Yung Lott (Prod. by Money Alwayz)
9. Something Special ft. Samm (Prod. by Money Alwayz)
10. Pushin ft. Icon (Prod. by D-Animals)
11. We Do It ft. 3 Story Gang (Prod. by D-Animals)
12. That's Swagga Daddy (Prod. by D-Animals)
13. Summertime ft. Tha Jacka (Prod. by D-Animals)
14. Money Dance (Prod. by D-Animals)
15. Fastlane ft. Dem Hoodstarz (Prod. by D-Animals)
16. Another Day (Prod. by S.O.D.A.)
17. People Hold On (Prod. by Automattik)

Relevant Tags

Amoeba Music San Francisco (33), Big Rich (4)