Gilbert O'Sullivan Tells His Side of the Story in Landmark Sampling Court Case Against Biz Markie that Changed the Direction of Hip-Hop

Posted by Billyjam, September 29, 2010 03:00am | Post a Comment

The extremely shy and usually elusive Irish born singer/songwriter Gilbert O'Sullivan made a rare public speaking appearance over the weekend and addressed his landmark court case against Biz Markie that forever changed the direction of hip-hop music. Fielding questions Sunday afternoon at the Branchage Film Festival in Jersey, UK, following a screening of the Aidan McCarthy directed bio-doc Out On His Own: Gilbert O'Sullivan, the artist, who scored a series of hits in the UK (and to a slightly lesser degree in the US) in the early 70's including "Nothing Rhymed," "Alone Again (Naturally)," "Clair," and "Get Down," gave his side of the story of the notorious 1991 court case that he won but also gained the ire of countless hip-hop artists and fans alike.

Gilbert O'Sullivan "Alone Again (Naturally)"

The landmark case, settled in a New York court, was the first sampling lawsuit to go to court and became historic because it forever altered the course of recording hip-hop music. Up until then hip-hop artists were accustomed to freely borrowing snippets of previous recordings, and pretty much sampled whatever they wanted to. If challenged they tended to settle out of court, or in many instances the rap artist would ask permission (sometimes offering money) right before using a particular sample. This was actually Biz Markiethe case with Biz Markie and Gilbert O'Sullivan, but things did not go as hoped for by the Biz and his O'Sullivan sampled song, "Alone Again (Naturally)."

Continue reading...

Mash-Up Of The Week: DJ McFly's 2010 Mashup Pt 4

Posted by Billyjam, September 26, 2010 04:08pm | Post a Comment
DubleJMcFly "2010 Mashup (Pt 4) ft. Usher, MGMT, Jason Derulo, Aerosmith, Nas, LMFAO, Luda +"

This latest mashup of the week is from DJ McFly, aka YouTuber DubleJMcFly, and it's the fourth mash up in his ongoing hyper-action, quick-mix style 2010 Mashup series. As with its predecessors, Pt. 4 packs a lot of music into its three minutes -- 25 songs in all, including Ludacris, MGMT, Dead Prez, Usher, Rolling Stones, Black Eyed Peas, Danzel, Nas, No Doubt, and Lady GaGa feat. Beyonce. And while it is billed as a "2010 Mashup," many of these songs are obviously older than that. But the mashup mix is all 2010 and its maker kindly IDs the songs as they pop up in the mix.

In this same megamix style, the Ministry of Sound superaclub in the UK, which for many years has been releasing best of dance floor hit compilations, has also been releasing all mashup mix CDs for several years also. They recently released their latest mashup mix CD (an import in the US), The Mash Up Mix 2010, which packs in a hundred different dance tunes and, unlike most mash ups floating around on the Internet, is a 100% legal release in that has licenses all of its sources. All of this is further proof that the mash up genre is not going anywhere anytime soon.

East Bay Hip-Hop Artist Erk Tha Jerk Gives Away Prelude EP & Talks to Amoeblog in NYC

Posted by Billyjam, September 25, 2010 04:04am | Post a Comment
 Erk Tha Jerk "Perfect Mistake (feat. Netta)" (2010)

Above is the new video for Bay Area artist Erk Tha Jerk's single "Perfect Mistake" featuring female vocalist Netta (both on the track and in the video). The song is taken off The Prelude, the free EP release and precursor to the Richmond, CA artist's anticipated full-length debut Nerd's Eye View which will arrive in Amoeba on November 9th. Dramatic as the engaging video is, it is even deeper and more profound than it first appears, since according to the artist "Netta represents the music industry in the video. The diamonds represent the fancy things that 'it' can bring. In the video, it makes me feel wanted, then, in the end, sets me up and leaves me worse off that when I started," says the artist, speaking like a music biz vet rather than someone who has yet to release his first album.

Based on the work he has done so far, not to mention the following he has already built for himself, I strongly believe he is going to be one of rare popular Bay Area hip-hop artists who will transcend his NorCal appeal and make it big nationally & internationally.  

Earlier this week the Richmond, CA artist was in NYC visiting various radio stations and rap magazines (word has it he will have a very special item in XXL magazine), and handing out free copies of The Prelude CD (which has an Amoeba logo on the back cover and can be found at the two Bay Amoebas on the counter if you are lucky). But if you cannot find a physical copy of the free EP, don't worry: you can download The Prelude for free here. I met up with him for a minute in the Chelsea district of Manhattan -- video below. And when Erk Tha Jerk's album Nerd's Eye View drops in November check back here on the Amoeblog for an in-depth interview with the artist.

Continue reading...

Hip-Hop Rap Up 09:24:10: Black Milk, Slaine (La Coka Nostra), Rob Swift, Roc Raida Tributes, Cool Nutz, Donwill, Ill Bill + DJ Muggs + More

Posted by Billyjam, September 24, 2010 11:00am | Post a Comment
Amoeba Music Hollywood Weekly Hip-Hop Top Five Chart: 09:24:10

1) Black Milk Album of the Year (Fat Beats)

2) Eminem Recovery (Aftermath, Interscope, Shady)

3) The Roots How I Got Over (Def Jam)

4) Big Boi Sir Lucious Left Foot... The Son of Chico Dusty (Def Jam)

5) Black Eyed Peas The E.N.D. (Interscope)

Thanks to Ricky Ray Rivere at the Hollywood Amoeba Music for this week's hip-hop top chart, which features some releases that have been out for a minute -- most notably the still-going-strong Black Eyed Peas' summer 2009 album The E.N.D. "It's a singles driven market," noted Ricky, adding that the Peas "always have a current hit single it seems." One of the newer chart entries is Black Milk's recently released follow up album to Tronic, the twelve track Album of the Year on Fat Beats that most people seem to be feeling.

Last Sunday, Sept. 19th, 2010, marked the one-year anniversary of the tragic death of New York DJ extraordinaire Roc Raida of the X-Men/X-Ecutioners fame. He was a much loved champion DJ & gifted turntablist (and really nice guy). The occasion has been marked by many over the past week both online and in the clubs.

Continue reading...

World Peace Day Message to the Powers Responsible for War: Give Peace a Chance

Posted by Billyjam, September 21, 2010 09:19am | Post a Comment

John Lennon/Yoko Ono "Give Peace A Chance" live (edited version)

Today, September 21st, is World Peace Day 2010, with many scheduled events already ongoing or about to take place all around the world. One World Peace Day event is the wonderful streaming webcast today that features performance from such artists as Patti Smith and Youssou N'Dour. To view this stream or get more information click here.

Of course, while nearly all of us agree that every day should be a day of peace round the world, it clearly is not. Unfortunately, it still seems that certain individuals in power around the globe will never heed the message of World Peace Day. Sadly, war and the (mostly male) greed and ego that motivate it are as old as time itself and show no signs of stopping anytime soon.

But just like the steps forward that have been made in civil rights in recent decades, I like to think that the message of the peace movement and events like this will also eventually sink into the stubborn heads of those who create wars and are responsible for the unnecessary deaths of so many.

To the world leaders responsible for war I say, give peace a chance! We know from experience that war doesn't work.
BACK  <<  287  288  289  290  291  292  293  294  295  296  297  298  >>  NEXT