Tricky's Return To Form With New "Does It" Video From Anticipated Album "False Idols"

Posted by Billyjam, March 28, 2013 12:44pm | Post a Comment

Tricky "Does It (feat.  Francesca Belmonte)" (2013)

Based on both the advance album track "Nothing's Changed," that was leaked last month as a free download, and the brand new video (above) for "Does It (feat. Francesca Belmonte)" - that was unveiled today - the accurate consensus is that  UK artist Tricky is back in force and on top of his musical game again. Hence the collective anticipation by longtime fans of the artist, who first came to fame as a member of Massive Attack, for his new album False Idols: to be released on his own label of the same name and slated to arrive in Amoeba on May 28th. Diehard Tricky fans agree that False Idols should be his best in years and a welcome return to that dark, ethereal, pleasing sound that Tricky carved out on his early career, nineties releases such as his 1995 debut Maxinquaye and 1996's Pre-Millennium Tension.

Apparently the musician/producer and sometime actor has had time to sit back and reflect and honestly examine on where he had gone creativity. The outcome of that mediation? A definitive decision to keep it real and keep it simple, and bring things back full circle in a return to his 90's musical roots. "I was lost for ages," he admitted in a prepared statement from his label. “I was trying to prove something to people, trying to do something to please other people and also myself at the same time, which is never going to work. To be honest with you, I’ve been floating around since Chris Blackwell and Island.


Posted by Billyjam, September 3, 2008 06:02pm | Post a Comment
pain language dj muggs and planet asia
  Jamoeblog Top Ten: 09:03:08

1) DJ Muggs & Planet Asia "Sleeper Cell" (Gold Dust Media)

2) Paris "Blap That Ass Up" + "The Trap" (Guerrilla Funk)

3) dan le sac Vs. Scroobius pip "Development" (Strange Famous)

4) Large Pro "Rockin Hip-Hop" (Gold Dust Media)

5) Tricky "Council Estate" (Domino Recording Company)

6) J-Live "Ooweee" (bbe)

7) Nightmares On Wax "195 lbs" (Warp Records)

8) Quest Quartz Qrew "Do Gooder" (Reverse Techniques)

9) Jean Grae "My Story" (Blacksmith)

10) Brooklyn Academy "This is Brooklyn" (feat Ill Bill) (K7)

DJ Muggs & Planet Asia have a very strong new collaborative album in Pain Language. It brings out thesoul assassins very best in both artists on tracks such as "Sleeper Cell," "Black Mask Men," "Smoke," "9mm" (video below), and "Death Frees Every Soul" featuring Sick Jacken. Wu-Tang members Killah Priest and GZA paris acid reflexare among the album's many guests. Also making cameos on Pain Language (available at Amoeba in two weeks) are B-Real, Cynic, Scratch, Prodigal Sunn, Tri State, Chance Infinite, and Turban. What I love most about the Soul Assassins' DJ Muggs' top notch production is his ability to effortlessly create a dark, ominous mood -- the perfect backdrop to Fresno emcee Planet Asia --  that is enhanced with subtly interwoven soundbite samples.

BACK  <<  1  2  >>