Hip-Hop Top Five New Releases [Video Version] Princess Nokia, Young Dolph, Yung Lean, Budamunk, Black Moon

Posted by Billyjam, November 12, 2017 10:25am | Post a Comment

1: Princess Nokia 1992 Deluxe. (also on vinyl 1992 Deluxe LP)  (Rough Trade)

Princess Nokia's 1992 Deluxe. (also on vinyl 1992 Deluxe LP) is out this week thanks to Rough Trade who released the 25 year old rapper's deluxe update on her mixtape entitled "1992" from last year. 1992 being her birth year, Princess Nokia is already known for her collaboration with Wiki and the NY crew Ratking (she appears on the 2014 XL release So It Goes under her older pseudonym Wavy Spice) as well as her feminist collective Smart Girl Club, and in recent weeks for getting into a confrontation on a New York City subway with a racist that involved hot soup: an example of how she always speaks her mind. Born Destiny Nicole Frasqueri, she proudly raps how she's, "Black a-Rican bruja straight out from the Yoruba/ And my people come from Africa diaspora, Cuba/ And you mix that Arawak, that original people/ I’m that Black Native American" on "Brujas" which is one of nine tracks on the new album. As  noted by Amoeba reviewers  1992 Deluxe is packed with "hard and hypnotic" beats, with the emcee's flow being, "smart, sassy, and insightful. She’s tough. She’s street smart. She’s proud of who she is — and she wants you to feel the same way, too. That’s what makes this album so special: lots of bangers, to be sure, but there’s also a lot of heart behind the dance floor fillers. Princess Nokia is one-of-a-kind and our world is better for having her in it." Currently over in Europe, Princess Nokia's next gig is tomorrow (Nov 13) in Berlin. Published a couple of months ago below is the full video for "Flava" that was co-directed by the artist with  Milah Libin. Note that the instrumental music part kicks in at the 3:00 point in the clip.

1: Princess Nokia "Flava" from the album 1992 Deluxe. (also on vinyl 1992 Deluxe LP)  (2017)

2: Yung Lean Stranger (YEAR001)

The 21 year old European rapper with Southern rap influences born Jonatan Leandoer Håstad who goes by the stage name of Yung Lean (of the Sad Boys crew) follows up last year's Warlord and 2014's Unknown Memory (released when he was still in his teens) with the new lushly produced, synth-drenched, moody, monotone-rapped album  Stranger. The young Stockholm, Sweden born artist, whose rise to rap fame in America would have seemed totally unfathomable in a previous decade, has developed a strong following Stateside: thanks to the continued globalization of the genre as well as in some part to the American artists he's collaborated with. These include popular respected contemporary hip-hop artists Travis Scott and A$AP Ferg. To coincide with Yung Lean's new 14 track album's release this week, the popular "emo-rapper" has just published the seven and a half minute mini-movie related to the new album. Entitled "Stranger: the short film" with an accompanying story line description of being about, "a fugitive turns into a demon then a sad clown and finally becomes a man again," that video clip appears below.

2: Yung Lean "Stranger: the short film" about the album Stranger (2017)

3: Young Dolph Thinking Out Loud (Paper Route Empire)

Thinking Out Loud  is the latest from prolific Southern artist Young Dolph whose previous 2017 releases have included Gelato, Bullet Proof, Tracking Numbers (collab with Bay Area artist Berner), and the Record Store Day new vinyl pressing of King Of Memphis. Each popular with fans, so too have responses been to Thinking Out Loud  from Dolph's dedicated fan base to  to such new album tracks as  "Drippy," "Believe Me," ":While U Here," "Eddie Kane" and the title track "Thinking Out Loud." With only ten tracks and clocking in at just 33 minutes, Young Dolph kept things short by album standards these days. He also kept things different from most others' albums by not inviting a gang of guest rappers onto every album track: a decision that often result in distracting from the main artist's talents. Instead Young Dolph kept the focus on himself with the exception of only one album track that features other artists:  the song "Go Get Sum Moe" with verses from his three select guests 2 Chainz, Gucci Mane and Ty Dolla $ign. To coincide with the album's release this week the artist teamed up with WorldStarHipHop to produce the music video for the album opening track "What's The Deal" with its hypnotically repetitive chant-along lines, "Nigga what's the deal, what's the deal, what's the deal? Fuck how you feel, how you feel, how you feel! I've been counting mill after mil after mill."

3: Young Dolph "What's The Deal" [EXPLICIT] from the album Thinking Out Loud (2017)

4: Budamunk Baker's Dozen LP (Baker's Dozen/Fat Beats)

The welcome seventh and latest installment in the ongoing Fat Beats Records curated Baker's Dozen imprint series of instrumental hip-hop on vinyl collections that has included such previous ones as series number six Marco Polo's Baker's Dozen. For this newest release of twelve instrumentals Japanese producer Budamunk was enlisted for his
Baker's Dozen LP that, like the previous series releases, will likely sell out fast. As he told Fat Beats in an interview for this release, Budamunk has been an ardent fan of hip-hop dating back to the 90's with an interest in collecting records, CDs and VHS tapes. "This then evolved into experiments, sampling and chopping WAVs on free versions of WaveLab. In 2003 this became an MPC 2000XL. I was living in Los Angeles at the time so I had started going to shows and hanging out with people who shared similar interests," he stated in that interview while noting of his development as a producer over the years: "The selection of sounds has changed slightly in accordance with my current environment. Still mostly sample-based but adding new and old tools have become part of my process. Just continuing to create music my body and spirit needs to feel good." Among the dozen tracks on Budamunk's new LP is the second last track on Side B "Zzoned" that appears in [audio only] video clip below.

4: Budamunk "Zzoned" (audio only) from Baker's Dozen LP  (2017)

5: UPCOMING Black Moon Enta Da Stage: The Remixes LP Pre-Order (Fat Beats)

This anticipated double LP set from BK legends Black Moon officially drops on Friday next (November 17th) but you can (and really should) pre-order Enta Da Stage: The Remixes 2LP set now (ships free in USA). Coming just five weeks after Fat Beats reissued on vinyl (also as a 2LP set) the regular album version of the 1993 hip-hop classic Enta Da Stage LP from the influential Duck Down crew, is this 13 track collection of alternative mixes and remixes, many only found on 12" releases before. Included are Buckshot's new vocal version of "Shit Iz Real," Da Beatminerz remix of "Buck Em Down" (hear below),  the Rugged Ruff mix of "Fuck It Up," M.W. Smooth's mix of "Who Got Da Props?" and DJ Evil Dee's remixes of "How Many MC's," "U Da Man" and "Son Get Wrec." Among the other tracks on this new vinyl collection are "Murder MC's (B-Side vocal)," "Buckshot's Freestyle Joint" and "I Got Cha Opin (remix)." Pre-order here.
5: Black Moon "Buck Em Down (Beatminerz Remix)" [Audio Only] from forthcoming 2017 2LP
release Enta Da Stage: The Remixes LP Pre-Order

Relevant Tags

Budamunk (1), Yung Lean (2), Young Dolph (3), Black Moon (5), Princess Nokia (4)