Hip-Hop Rap Up 06:27:17: DJ Khaled, Big Boi, RTJ, J Dilla, Apathy & Celph Titled, Bone Thugs-N-Harmony, MC Bin Laden + more

Posted by Billyjam, June 27, 2017 06:27pm | Post a Comment

Hip-Hop Top Ten New Releases June 23 2017 (includes CD/vinyl, new + reissues)

1: DJ Khaled Grateful (Epic)

2: J-Dilla  Jay Dee's Ma Dukes Collection LP (Yancey Media)

3: Big Boi  Boomiverse  2LP vinyl (Epic)

3: Apathy & Celph Titled No Place Like Chrome (Antidote)

5: Bone Thugs-N-Harmony New Waves (E1 Entertainment)

6: Krazie Bone Eternal Legend (Real Talk Ent)

7: Post Malone Stoney LP (Republic)

8: MC Bin Laden É Grau EP LP (True Panther Sounds)

9: Run-D.M.C. Raising Hell LP (Get On Down)

10: Various Artists Baby Driver OST (also on 2LP/vinyl)   (Columbia)

That stereotype of superstar rap artists being self-absorbed individuals who exude a sense of entitlement too often rings true. But  the opposite can be said of popular DJ, producer, radio personality, author and social media sensation DJ Khaled who, despite all of his success, seems to always give off a genuine humble. sincere, down to earth vibe. That he should title his brand new, tenth studio album Grateful only further proves this point. Despite the fact that the 41 year old star pals around with such pop and rap stars as Lil Wayne (whom he's known and supported from day one), Drake, Rihanna, Beyoncé, Jay Z, Justin Bieber, Migos, and Chance the Rapper, the guy maintains a most grounded and levelheaded outlook on life.

Incidentally all of those aforementioned artists make guest appearances on the new album, as also do Nicki Minaj, Future, Travis Scott, Rick Ross, Kodak Black, Sizzla, Mavado, Nas, Calvin Harris, Betty Wright, and others too on the 24 track, 2CD album that clocks in at just under an hour and a half of music. Even more novel about Grateful is that the album's executive producer (also featured on the cover art) is listed as Khaled's 8 month old son Asahd who reportedly will be getting points/dollars from the album's profits going into a bank account set up in his name. For his part of creative input the baby apparently reacted approvingly or disapprovingly to early versions of the potential album tracks. The new video for the just released fourth single from the new album, "It's Secured (feat. Nas & Travis Scott)," appears immediately below.

DJ Khaled "It's Secured (feat. Nas & Travis Scott)" (2017) from Grateful

Danger Mouse "Chase Me (feat Run The Jewels & Big Boi)" (2017) from Baby Driver OST (2LP/vinyl)

Lots of new vinyl pressings arriving into Amoeba of late with the latest batch including Big Boi's  Boomiverse  2LP vinyl set, Post Malone's Stoney LP, (the artist's debut studio album initially/digitally released back in December), and MC Bin Laden É Grau EP LP via True Panther Sounds. Listed under "world" but interchangeable with hip-hop/rap, MC Bin Laden's É Grau EP is a 20 minutes, six track, mini album that includes the Brazilian artist's viral video from few years ago "BOLOLO HAHA." That very basic, low budget video (see below), that perfectly matches the energy of the song, has gotten over 17 million views since uploaded in 2014! 

The other new vinyl arrivals include the new reissue, by the good folks at Get On Down, of Run-D.M.C.'s 1986 classic Raising Hell LP that features such landmark hip-hop tracks by the group as "It's Tricky" (video below), and yet another posthumous Dilla release. Initially released back in December but now released on vinyl is the latest posthumous release from J-Dilla: Jay Dee's Ma Dukes Collection LP (Yancey Media) which is a mixture of unreleased beats from the late great Detroit artist known both as Jay Dee and J Dilla. Rather than name titles the songs are all ID'ed by numbers.


MC Bin Laden "BOLOLO HAHA" from É Grau EP

Other brand new releases this past week include the pairing of East Coast artists Apathy and Celph, via the Antidote label, for the recommended new underground full-length Titled No Place Like Chrome. And from the Bone Thugs camp there's the new New Waves (E1 Entertainment) from Bone Thugs-N-Harmony, New Waves (E1 Entertainment) and the all new Eternal Legend (Real Talk) from Krayzie Bone who last week on that same label (Real Talk) unleashed his collaboration album with Young Noble, Thug Brothers 2.

And in the #10 chart entry, which is the various artists original soundtrack to the fun new action movie Baby Driver OST, while not strictly hip-hop but a variety of genres, makes the list because along with such well worn rock classics as Golden Earring's "Radar Love" are some hip-hop gems. The Young MC track ("Know How") is an old song but both the Kid Koala movie-sample derived track ("Was He Slow?") and the Danger Mouse with Run The Jewels and Big Boi track ("Chase Me" - see video above) are brand new songs found on the 2CD and 2LP versions of the new soundtrack. 

Run-D.M.C. "It's Tricky" from Raising Hell LP
Post Malone "Go Flex" from Stoney LP

Relevant Tags

Krazie Bone (1), Apathy & Celph Titled (1), Dilla (3), Rtj (2), Big Boi (7), Dj Khaled (3), Bone Thugs-n-harmony (1)