Hip-Hop Rap Up 06:17:17: 2 Chainz, Big Boi, Flobots, Jonwayne, Kool G Rap, Ras G, Twista, Kay The Aquanaut, Fat Joe, Nappy Roots

Posted by Billyjam, June 17, 2017 08:30am | Post a Comment

                                                 Hip-Hop Top Twelve: Week Ending 06:17:17

1: 2 Chainz  Pretty Girls Like Trap Music (Def Jam)

2: Big Boi   (Epic) (upcoming vinyl LP version)

3: Various Artists Boombox 2: Early Independent Hip Hop, Electro And Disco Rap 1979-83 (Soul Jazz)
4: Flobots  Noenemies (Flobots Music)

5: Kool G Rap  Return Of The Don (Clockwork Music)

6: Jonwayne Rap Album Two (avail on LP/vinyl) Authors/Order Label)

7: Ras G The Gospel Of The God Spell LP (Street Corner Music)
8: Nappy Roots Watermelon, Chicken & Gritz LP (Atlantic)

9: Twista Adrenaline Rush LP (Atlantic)
10: Kay The Aquanaut 7 Vessels (Circle Is Square)

11: Krayzie Bone & Young Noble Thug Brothers 2 (Real Talk Ent.)

12: Fat Joe Don Cartagena LP (Atlantic)

Upcoming Vinyl Pick: July 14 street date, pre-order now, of LP/vinyl version of Kendrick Lamar's latest album Damn.

Topping this latest top twelve hip-hop chart, that includes brand new recordings and reissues, is the much talked about new 2 Chainz album Pretty Girls Like Trap Music. A consistently strong pop rap album it has enough singles worthy material that no doubt we'll be hearing a lot from this over the summer and remainder of 2017. Down below, along with a series of other music videos related to the above Top 12, is the 2 Chainz music video for the new album track "It's A Vibe" that features guest spots from Ty Dolla $ign, Trey Songz, and Jhené Aiko

Big Boi, who just inked a deal with vimeo to produce a new cartoon series, has dropped the new album  Boomiverse (upcoming vinyl LP version)  Following 2015's album release Big Grams (also on LP/vinyl) it finds the one half of OutKast in top form on this  45 minute new album that includes the single "Mic Jack" (see video below). That track features Adam Levine who is one of many guests who join Big Boi on all but three tracks. Killer Mike pops up on three new album tracks: "Follow Deez" also featuring Curren$y, "Made Man" also featuring Kurupt, and "Kill Jill" also featuring Jeezy. Other album collaborators include Snoop Dogg, Sleepy Brown, Eric Bellinger, Gucci Mane, Scar, Troze, and a posthumous appearance from the late Pimp C who passed back in 2007.

Bone Thugs-N-Harmony and Outlawz team up in the form of  Krayzie Bone and Young Noble with the new album Thug Brothers 2  featuring such tracks as "Nothing Matters" (video below). Meantime legendary rap figure Kool G Rap, who created some of hip-hop's finest work back in the day with Marley Marl on Cold Chillin, is back with the all new album ? that was produced entirely by MoSS and features such tracks as "Running (feat. Termanology & Saigon)" (video below). LA producer/DJ Ras G, who is down with Flying Lotus, gives us the vinyl LP version of his album The Gospel Of The God Spell first released last year. Denver Colorado's Flobots return with their Kickstarter funded, politically fueled  Noenemies . The new album, featuring the lead single "Rattle the Cage" (see video below), tackles such hotly debated topics as climate change and immigration reform.

Vinyl reissues this week, all care of Atlantic Records, include the new vinyl pressing of Fat Joe's 1998 album Don Cartagena LP, Twista's 2007 album Adrenaline Rush LP,  and Nappy Roots 2002 album Watermelon, Chicken & Gritz. That fifteen year old hit album from the alternative Southern rap quartet dropped in the year when (thanks to this album) that the Kentucky group were the best selling hip hop group. The album features the hit singles "Awnaw" and "Po' Folks" (see video below). Finally, the retro hip-hop collection from Soul Jazz, Boombox 2: Early Independent Hip Hop, Electro And Disco Rap 1979-83, is a 2CD + thick booklet collection that includes 14 old school indie released tracks such as  Kool DJ A.J.'s "Ah, That's The Joint," Busy Bee's "School Days," and Harlem World Crew's "Let's Rock" originally released in 1980 as a 12" on the Tay-Ster Records label.

2 Chainz "It's A Vibe (feat. Ty Dolla $ign, Trey Songz, & Jhené Aiko)" from Pretty Girls Like Trap Music

Big Boi "Mic Jack (feat. Adam Levine)" from the album Boomiverse

Jonwayne "LIVE From The Fuck You" from the album Rap Album Two

Kool G Rap "Running (feat. Termanology & Saigon)" from the album Return Of The Don

Flobots "Rattle The Cage (Live on CPR's OpenAir)" from the album Noenemies

Nappy Roots "Po' Folks (feat. Anthony Hamilton)" from the album Watermelon, Chicken & Gritz

Kay the Aquanaut "American Expre$$ (feat. Paranoid Castle)" from 7 Vessels

Bone Thugs-N-Harmony and Outlawz "Nothing Matters" from the album Thug Brothers 2

Fat Joe "Don Cartagena (feat. Puff Daddy)" from the album Don Cartagena

Relevant Tags

Twista (5), Nappy Roots (1), Ras G (5), Kool G Rap (6), Jonwayne (1), Flobots (4), Big Boi (7), 2 Chainz (7), Kay The Aquanaut (1), Fat Joe (3)