Hip-Hop Rap Up Video Version: Funky DL's A Tribe Called Quest Tribute + Raekwon, Oddisee, Your Old Droog, & Rick Ross

Posted by Billyjam, March 26, 2017 11:18am | Post a Comment
1: Oddisee The Iceberg (MMG/Fat Beats) (2017)

Each year in the second half of March, with Record Store Day just weeks away, record labels traditionally have kicked into full gear with a non-stop flow of releases coming out. And this year is no exception with some incredible hip-hop being released by big and small labels on both vinyl and CD and increasingly more on cassette too. Check out the recent Amoeblog on boutique label Get On Down's exclusive Record Store Day (April 22nd 2017) releases that includes an informative interview with Papa D who is one of the partners of the label that's an imprint of Traffic Entertainment. Peep and/or download as PDF the full list of Record Store Day 2017 releases (hip-hop and beyond) here. Meantime new releases to arrive into Amoeba this week include Washington DC super-talent Oddisee' latest full-length release The Iceberg.  Again from Mello Music Group (MMG), who just last year released both Oddisee' Alwasta EP his The Odd Tape album, this latest is a dual release with Fat Beats under their MMG/Fat Beats combo which we can assume means that there is a vinyl version coming soon. Clocking in at just under 48 minutes The Iceberg's 14 tracks include the song "NNGE" that features album guest Toine. See the new accompanying music video below.

Oddisee "NNGE (feat. Toine)" from  The Iceberg (2017)

2: Raekwon The Wild (H2O) (2017)

Also new this week into Amoeba is the latest from longtime Wu-Tang Clan member Raekwon The Chef: The Wild on H20 Records. It is the eighth studio full length album from the tireless artist who this time out invited a generational cross section of artists to guest on the 16 track, 43 minute album. These include new Berkeley CA rap star G-Eazy who joins Raekwon on the single "Purple Brick Road" (see video below). The album's four other guest artists include Cee-Lo Green ("Marvin"), Lil Wayne ("My Corner"), P.U.R.E. ("M&N"), and Andre Day ("Visiting Hour").

Raekwon "Purple Brick Road (feat G-Eazy)" from The Wild (H20) (2017)

3: Your Old Droog PACKS (also on vinyl/LP) (Fat Beats) (2017)

My personal favorite new emcee of the past year is the endlessly gifted Brooklyn emcee Your Old Droog who last year relocated to LA. The only problem is that he had not released enough stuff for me to listen to. Although the little new stuff, including his cameo on "Jazz" on DJ Skizz's 2016 album Cruise Control, was far superior to entire albums by other artists. That was last year. This year he's made up for it with both the recent underground download release of a five song EP What Happened To Fire? with Wiki (track it down online) and the amazing, must-get album  PACKS (also on vinyl/LP) that was released two weeks ago via Fat Beats. An absolutely fantastic album I cannot speak highly enough of it. Its many standout tracks including  "G.K.A.C.," "Bangladesh (feat. Heems)," "White Rappers (A Good Guest)" and "Help (feat Wiki and Edan)" of which the music video appears below.

Your Old Droog "Help" feat. Wiki and Edan)" from PACKS (also on vinyl/LP) (Fat Beats) (2017)

5: Rick Ross Rather You Than Me (Epic) (2017)

Pop-rapper Rick Ross very recently followed up his two albums from the previous fifteen months, Port Of Miami and Black Market both via Def Jam, with last week's (March 17th) release of Rather You Than Me. This new album, clocking in at a few minutes over an hour, is Ross' ninth studio album and his first through Epic Records. All but four of the fourteen tracks feature cameos from guests. These include Nas ("Powers That Be"), Ty Dolla $ign ("I Think She Like Me") and Young Thug and Wale ("Trap Trap Trap"). See the recently released accompanying music video below.

Rick Ross "Trap Trap Trap (feat. Young Thug & Wale)" from Rather You Than Me (Epic) (2017)  

Funky DL Marauding At Midnight: A Tribute To The Sounds Of A Tribe Called Quest (also on LP/vinyl) (Washington Classics) (2017)

Sure to appeal to the legions of A Tribe Called Quest fans out there fiending for anything new from the beloved hip-hop group whose final album (following the passing of Phife Dawg) was last year's We Got It From Here: Thank You 4 Your Service, this on-point tribute from UK producer  Funky DL and musician friends should satisfy.  Somewhat reminiscent of the Wu-Tang Clan tribute album several years back from El Michels Affair whose 2009 Enter The 37th Chamber was their instrumental versions of the Wu, this album is similarly a collection of instrumental covers of Tribe's 1993 album MIdnight Marauders (also avail on vinyl/LP). However while the El Michels Affair varied between "covers" and "interpretations" of the WU's work, Funky DL's is much closer to pitch-perfect replications of their musical heroes to the point that it almost sounds like the original instrumental version of the ATCQ songs. But judge for yourself with Funky DL's version of "Award Tour" in the (audio only) video clip below.

Funky DL "Award Tour" (audio only) from Marauding At Midnight: A Tribute To The Sounds Of A Tribe Called Quest (also on LP/vinyl) (Washington Classics) (2017)

Relevant Tags

Rick Ross (10), Record Store Day (169), Rsd (19), Record Store Day 2017 (11), Get On Down (3), Rsd 2017 (2), Traffic Entertainment (2), Raekwon (10), Your Old Droog (7), G-eazy (6)