Prince 2017 Releases To Include Vinyl Reissues + "Purple Rain" Deluxe Reissue with 2 Albums of Unreleased Prince Material

Posted by Billyjam, February 15, 2017 11:22pm | Post a Comment

Already 2017 is shaping up to be the year of Prince: kickstarted at Sunday night's Grammys with standout sets by The Time and Bruno Mars during the night's memorable Prince tribute. Then next week, Feb 23rd, Warner Bros is reissuing a bunch of Prince albums on vinyl including Lovesexy, Diamonds & PearlsGraffiti Bridge OST, ComeBatman OST, and  The Love Symbol.  Warner Bros Records (WBR) also recently announced that finally Prince's Warner catalog would be "available to stream across all digital services" following years of not streaming the copyright-guarded artist's music. Warner also announced an upcoming very special Purple Rain reissue. A truly Deluxe edition that tops all  Prince reissues.  As well as including all remastered versions of songs on the original 1984 album, this package will additionally feature two albums of previously unreleased Prince material plus concert films. The deluxe package scheduled for an early summer release. "Prince recordings from the Paisley Park Vault and two complete concert films arriving June 9th,"  promised Warner, stressing their sensitivity to the late musician's artistic standards. "When we make any of Prince's music available to fans - from the hits to unreleased gems - we are committed to upholding Prince's high creative standards and we know fans will be thrilled when they hear these albums and see these films," said Warner Chairman & CEO Cameron Strang. "Prince recorded his most influential and popular music during his time with Warner Bros. and we are deeply aware of our responsibility to safeguard and nurture his incredible legacy."

That legacy with Warner Bros, who Prince signed to 40 years ago, included such albums as the six listed above that are been reissued on vinyl next week as well as such others as Prince, Dirty Mind, Controversy, 1999, Around the World in a Day, Parade, and Sign O' The Times.  Back in November, 2016 in conjunction with NPG, Warner released the CD collection PRINCE 4Ever of 40 songs by Prince. Many of hits were included: songs like "Let's Go Crazy," "Kiss," "Little Red Corvette," "Raspberry Beret," "When Doves Cry," "Sign O' The Times," "Alphabet Street," "Batdance," "Cream," "I Would Die 4 U," "Diamonds and Pearls," "Pop Life," "Delirious," "1999," and the title track from the movie "Purple Rain." Also included was one previously unreleased track: "Moonbeam Levels." But this special upcoming Purple Rain deluxe set will include two whole albums of unreleased material! And this is just the beginning of the hundred years of new Prince material we were promised. Whether Warner or Prince's estate directly will be releasing more new Prince material from the famous Vaults of Prince, one thing is likely: there's going to be a lot of Prince music being released. The incredibly prolific artist, who for years reportedly would record two new songs every day, has left behind enough new material to release a new album a year for  another 100 years! That figure was reported by such outlets as the NY Daily News and the BBC around the time of his Prince's death last April. Below is a great live performance of the 1984 album / movie title track "Purple Rain" by Prince and The Revolution at 1985's American Music Awards.

Prince & The Revolution "Purple Rain" live at 1985 AMA (American Music Awards)

Relevant Tags

Prince (64), Purple Rain (13)