Hip-Hop Rap-Up, Week End 07.18.14: Madlib, Z-Man, Deltron 3030, DJ Woody, Hieroglyphics, Kid Vishis, Sir Michael Rocks + more

Posted by Billyjam, July 18, 2014 11:00am | Post a Comment
Amoeba Music Hollywood Hip-Hop Top Five Week Ending 07:11:14

1) Madlib Rock Konducta 1 & 2 CD (Madlib Invasion)

2) Madlib Rock Konducta Pt 2 (LP) (Madlib Invasion)

3)  Quasimoto "Planned Attack" / Talkin' Shit" [Picture Disc] (7") (Stones Throw)

4) Riff Raff Neon Icon (Mad Decent)

5) Blu Good To Be Home (Universal)

Holding down three of the five positions in the latest hip-hop chart from Amoeba Hollywood is Madlib. In the first two slots are a couple in Madlib's new ongoing Rock Konducta series (Rock Konducta Vol 1 & 2 CD and Rock Konducta Pt 2 LP) which began last year's five-track Rock Konducta 45. Note that they are available in both single volume LPs One and Two and as a double CD set (52 tracks total). An offshoot of the renowned producer's Beat Konducta series these two first full-length volumes, which are rock instrumentals (some instantly recognizable, most not as they are underground ranging from prof to psychedelia to Krautrock and beyond) all given that special Madlib treatment. Clocking in at about 40 minutes per volume with 20 plus tracks they are all totally tweaked out in Madlib's distinctive production style. IE must get material! And knowing the ever prolific producer's track record my bet is that this new Madlib series could well go on for another dozen installments. Read more on these releases on the Stones Throw website. The other Madlib entry is the 7"  picture disc single from Madlib alter-ego Quasimoto (aka Lord Quas) "Planned Attack" / Talkin' Shit" culled in part from the album Yessir Whatever. Other chart entries this week include Riff Raff's Neon Icon care of Diplo's Mad Decent imprint, and Blu's Good To Be Home care of the major label Universal Records.  Bout time the mainstream caught up with Blu!

The Around The Way Tour -featuring Z-Man, Vocab Slick, and Pure Powers with DJ Ricky Switch rolls through San Rafael on Monday night, July 21st. See flyer right for details. Meanwhile the Bay Area's Del The Funky Homosapien and Dan the Automator along with Canada's Kid Koala - collectively Deltron 3030 - are doing a big show in Brooklyn's Prospect Park this weekend. The anticipated show, which is free and starts at 7pm Saturday July 19th, will feature the Deltron 3030 orchestra that The Automator (who note next week drops his latest project -
Got a Girl which is the prolific producer along with Mary Elizabeth Winstead) assembled and that played last summer in San Francisco's Stern Grove to rave reviews. More info on the BK show here. Also happening tomorrow (7/19) in the South Bay is the all day Style Elements 20th Anniversary Jam celebrating "two decades of innovation, elevation, and creativity." Starting at noon first up is the two hour Ken Swift workshop, followed by the two-hour competition at 4pm. Then at 6pm is the open to general public part of the day with Open Styles Soulebrity Competitors. Happening at Roosevelt Community Center at 901 E Santa Clara St, San Jose, California 95116. $15 for main event. Children under 12 free all day. Info/registration here. It's a ways away but you may wish to make plans now for the recently announced upcoming Bay Area appearance by the legendary Wu-Tang Clan who will be playing at The Warfield in San Francisco on Saturday, September 27th at 9pm. Advance tix now available for $50 or $65 click here. Day of show tix will be $52 or $67 subject to availability.
DJ Muggs' new music project is Cross My Heart Hope To Die that is about to drop Vita E Morte - the second EP release on Alpha Pup Records - on July 29 and is described as a multi-media project with DJ Muggs and singer Brevi, artistic curator, Sean Bonner and producer Andrew Kline. After listening to the first two singles, "Two Shots" and "Tears of God," I'd sum it up as Portishead sounding rather than Cypress Hill sounding - one that would go well the aforementioned next Dan the Automator project. Meanwhile an unproven up and coming hip-hop artist with a new release is Detroit rapper Kid Vishis who next week (July 22) will release his debut album "Timing Is Everything" featuring the lead single/video (see below) "Talk Behind My Back" which features guest spots from both Royce da 5'9" and Marvwon. The Royce da 5'9" connection is family related since the Slaughterhouse veteran (so is Marvwon) is Kid Vishis' older brother who influenced him in getting into music in the first place by inviting him to make a cameo on Royce's M.I.C. mixtape first. He then invited his young brother to tour as hypeman, and then invited him back to appear on a string of Royce releases.

                      Kid Vishis "Talk Behind My Back (feat. Royce da 5'9" & Marvwon)" (2014)

Above is the latest/fifth installment in DJ Premier’s “Bars In The Booth” series in which the legendary producer known as Preemo is joined by Harlem emcee Loaded Lux who recently battled Murda Mook at Total Slaughter.

Sir Michael Rocks "Fuck SeaWorld" (2014)

Above is the brand new video release from Sir Michael Rocks of The Cool Kids fame. Entitled "Fuck SeaWorld" it is culled from the animal loving artist's forthcoming debut solo album Banco which will arrive in Amoeba on July 29th. In addition to his Cool Kids partner in rhyme and Chuck Inglish, Banco will also feature guest spots from an impressive list of other artists including Too $hort, Mac Miller, Twista, Iamsu!, Trinidad James, Casey Veggies, Robb Bank$, while production credits go to DJ Mustard.

Meanwhile fans of The Cool Kids as a group will be glad to know that they soon will be ending their hiatus and plan on releasing a new album (their first since their 2011 official album release When Fish Ride Bicycles) at the end of the year entitled Shark Week.

Hieroglyphics - "Golden" (2014)

Above is the brand new video from the long running Oakland hip-hop collective The Hieroglyphics for their tight new track "Golden." For info on all the crew's upcoming shows visit their website.  And finally I leave you with the latest from UK turntablist sensation DJ Woody - the video for the
two tie DMC World Champion "Identical To None." Follow the DJ, designer on Instagram and Twitter @djwoodymusic and on Facebook.

DJ Woody "Identical To None" (2014)

Relevant Tags

Style Elements (2), Sir Michael Rocks (1), Billy Jam (41), Hip Hop (93), Rap (133), Madlib (33), Z-man (16), Deltron 3030 (7), Dj Woody (6), Hieroglyphics (0)