Atoms For Peace's 'Amok' Up for Preorder

Posted by Billy Gil, December 5, 2012 03:46pm | Post a Comment

Atoms for Peace, the new band featuring Radiohead frontman Thom Yorke, Radiohead producer Nigel Godrich, Red Hot Chili Peppers bassist Flea, drummer Joey Waronker and percussionist Mauro Refosco, have announced their debut record, Amok, will be released Feb. 26 from XL. The band released their first single, Default, this week, which also includes the song “What the Eyeballs Did,” which does not appear on the album.

The band debuted in 2009, performing the entirety of Yorke’s The Eraser at Los Angeles’ The Echoplex (the band shares its name with a song on The Eraser, as well as a speech by President Dwight D. Eisenhower). Since then, the band toured opening for Flying Lotus and played the 2010 Coachella Music and Arts Festival, while Radiohead released their eighth album, The King of Limbs.

You can here Yorke singing over an eerily beautiful electronic instrumental on the band’s official website, where you can also scroll over an apocalyptic L.A. landscape that includes many local landmarks (no Amoeba, although everything’s on fire so I guess that’s okay).

The tracklist is as follows:


1. “Before Your Very Eyes”                

2. “Default”              

3. “Ingenue”                

4. “Dropped”                

5. “Unless”                

6. “Stuck Together Pieces”                

7. “Judge, Jury and Executioner”                

8. “Reverse Running”                

9. “Amok”


AmokCD $12.98

LP $19.98

Deluxe Edition CD $15.98

Deluxe Edition LP $29.98





Relevant Tags

Atoms For Peace (8), Radiohead (39), Flea (6), New Albums (213), New Releases (214), Upcoming Releases (3), Preorders (30)