Keak da Sneak Returns with "Keak Hendrix"

Posted by Billyjam, November 17, 2011 10:24am | Post a Comment
Longtime Bay Area rap sensation Keak da Sneak will be dropping his first official album in two years when, early next month, he will release Keak Hendrix on EHustl Records. As a Bay Area artist Keak Da Sneak has enjoyed two separate runs of success & fame in his two-decade spanning career. First he was part of the duo Dual Committee with Agerman which morphed into the renowned Oakland hardcore rap trio 3X Krazy (Keak, Agerman, and B.A.).

3X Krazy arrived in the latter half of the nineties on the Bay rap scene; at first as an indie act but soon after picked up by Virgin Records' Noo Trybe imprint to release a series of albums including their well received debut Stackin' Chips. This led to Keak's high-profile, prolific solo career that included such solo albums as Sneakacydal, Retaliation, and Town Business to name but a few. More significantly Keak da Sneak became the premier artist of Bay Area bred Hyphy movement, being widely credited with coining the actual term "hyphy" and, not surprisingly, consequently going on to become one of the ill-fated regional rap sub-genre's most recognizable stars.

In addition to his numerous solo albums and guest spots on other artists' releases and compilations Keak has also collaborated over the years with many other artists on full-length projects such as 2004's Dope Game with B.A., The Jacka, Husalah & Verstyle, and 2008's stellar Welcome to Scokland with veteran Fillmore rapper San Quinn.

In 2008 the 34 year old artist born Charles Toby Bowens released his last major album (the prolific artist's fourteenth solo): the star-studded Deified on the NYC based Koch label featuring cameos from the likes of Too Short, E-40, Daz Dillinger, Lil' Keke, Paul Wall, and Prodigy from Mobb Deep & The Alchemist (for that album's lead single/video "That Go"). It did well but not as well as many anticipated it would with its delayed release oft been cited as the key reason. Keak Hendrix, which will arrive in Amoeba on December 6th, is a 16 track release that features production by such accomplished producers as Slap Boyz, and Dekade. The album, which despite its title and cover art does not feature Keak on guitar nor any Jimi Hendrix samples, features guest appearances by the likes of Matt Blaque ("Usual"), Young Lot ("We Ready"), and Ike Dola ("Automatic Wit The Money")